Australian National Championship 2013 Results

Australian National Championship 2013 Results

The Australian National Championship for 2013 (2012/2013 season) was held at the Stamford Plaza Melbourne on the 15th-16th of June. The event had 128 Masters and another 30 Seniors/Juniors, for a total of 158 players. This made it the largest tournament held in Australia to date! The masters division had 7 rounds of swiss on the first day, before a top cut of 32 run over the second day. Kerwin Lee’s Rayeel’s deck took first place at the event, you can see the full bracket, final standings, and metagame analysis below.


Metagame (Top 32)

  • Plasma: 18 [56%] (9-6-2-1-0)
  • Blastoise: 5 [16%] (1-2-1-0-1)
  • Darkrai: 4 [13%] (3-0-0-1-0)
  • Klinklang: 2 [6%] (1-0-1-0-0)
  • Garbodor: 2 [6%] (2-0-0-0-0)
  • RayEels: 1 [3%] (0-0-0-0-1)


  • VIC: 17 [53%] (9-3-3-1-1)
  • WA: 5 [16%] (3-1-1-0-0)
  • NSW: 3 [9%] (1-1-0-0-1)
  • ACT: 2 [6%] (0-1-0-1-0)
  • QLD: 2 [6%] (1-1-0-0-0)
  • TAS: 2 [6%] (1-1-0-0-0)
  • SA: 1 [3%] (1-0-0-0-0)
Final Standings (Top 32)

  1. Kerwin Lee (RayEels) [VIC]
  2. Shane Quinn (Blastoise) [NSW]

  3. Myles O’Neill (Plasma) [ACT]
  4. Thomas Winkelman (Darkrai) [VIC]

  5. Michael Kan (Blastoise) [VIC]
  6. Jennifer Wilson (Klinklang) [VIC]
  7. Andrew Tan (Plasma) [WA]
  8. Joey Forster (Plasma) [VIC]

  9. Yuan Yi (Plasma) [VIC]
  10. Paul Coletta (Plasma) [NSW]
  11. Marcus Peck (Plasma) [QLD]
  12. Shanan Kan (Plasma) [ACT]
  13. Aaron Choong (Plasma) [VIC]
  14. Joel Walraven (Plasma) [WA]
  15. Tim Hughes (Blastoise) [VIC]
  16. Ashely Kendall (Blastoise) [TAS]

  17. Alexander Bray (Darkrai) [WA]
  18. Cale Vickery (Plasma) [WA]
  19. Sean Takemoto (Plasma) [VIC]
  20. Lauchlan Swann (Garbodor) [VIC]
  21. Christian Delloiaco (Blastoise) [TAS]
  22. Marcel Tiggemann (Garbodor) [VIC]
  23. Fergus Tang (Plasma) [NSW]
  24. Tonino Kundjang (Plasma) [VIC]
  25. Kishara De Silva (Darkrai) [VIC]
  26. Bodhi Cutler (Plasma) [QLD]
  27. Anderson Rousseaux (Klinklang) [VIC]
  28. Stephen Pereira (Plasma) [VIC]
  29. Lee Soong Teck (Plasma) [VIC]
  30. Leigh Edwards (Darkrai) [WA]
  31. Adam Bateson (Plasma) [VIC]
  32. Matty Masefield (Plasma) [SA]


  1. Cale Vickery July 2, 2013 at 7:44 pm

    Hey guys loving the website and will be keeping an eye out for your new posts/reports, but one incy thing… I’m a member of team W.A.ilord (Western Australia).

    Such a great weekend, shame second day was so short for me, but we are excited for next year and hopefully we get more than just 1 battleroad and won’t be soo dependant on coming 2nd (we will still aim for 1st but just a worlds invite for anyone in WA would be awesome).

    • Ace Trainer Myles July 2, 2013 at 7:49 pm

      Thanks for letting us know Cale 🙂 – we’ve fixed the data up. As you can imagine tracking the state of so many people can be a tricky process, but hopefully we’ll get better!

      It was fantastic to see so many high-achieving players from WA at Nationals, you guys are going to go far! You’ll have to keep us updated on how your events go next season so we can feature them on the site 🙂

      • Cale Vickery July 3, 2013 at 12:31 am

        Oh yeah could imagine, especially if you checked my records that Ballarat BR would be a curve ball.

        Will keep you updated with how we go with events and reports when they happen :D, A year ago we didnt even have a modified legal league(of any sort, just one unlimited league) so hopefully the number of perth players still grows and we get events and the level of competition rises further.

  2. Fergus July 25, 2013 at 11:48 am

    Great website and article! 🙂 Just to clarify, I’m also from NSW with Shane and Paul. Cheers

    • Ace Trainer Myles July 29, 2013 at 11:49 am

      Thanks Fergus, I’ve fixed it up now! 🙂

Leave a reply

Required fields are marked (*)